July 16, 2024

Wimbledon 2024, the third major Grand Slam tennis tournament of the year, begins on Monday.

Coverage begins 7.30pm on 9GEM before moving to Nine later in the evening.

Nine’s Wide World of Sports commentary team will include Todd Woodbridge, Alica Molik, Tony Jones, Jelena Dokic, Samantha Stosur and Brenton Speed, with Roz Kelly and Brett Phillips hosting.

After reaching the quarter-finals at Roland Garros earlier this year, Alex de Minaur is among the 11 Australian players confirmed for the singles at Wimbledon. Completing the male Aussie lineup are Thanasi Kokkinakis, Jordan Thompson, Alexei Popyrin, Chris O’Connell, Rinky Hijikata, Max Purcell, Aleksander Vukic and Adam Walton.

After missing Wimbledon in 2023 due to a knee injury, Aijla Tomjanovic will return to the grass. Daria Saville is the other Australian woman in the tournament.

Coming off his first French Open title, defending Wimbledon champion Carlos Alcaraz is considered the man to beat. Alcaraz, 21, recently became the youngest male player to win major titles on all three surfaces, after claiming the US Open in 2023. His strongest opponent is the 2024 Australian Open champion and current world No.1 Jannik Sinner.

After her recent victory at Roland Garros, world No.1 Iga Świątek is aiming to add a grass court Wimbledon major to her trophy cabinet. Apart from the top seed, Australia Open champion and world No. 2 Aryna Sabalenka and American Coco Gauff are among the fancied contenders.

The great Aussie champion Ash Barty will make a return to Wimbledon to play in the Invitational Doubles, playing for the first time since retiring after winning the 2022 Australian Open.

Pre-show 7:30pm 9GEM / Tournament 8pm 9GEM / 19:45pm Nine Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane
Pre-show 7pm 9GEM / Tournament 7:30pm 9GEM / 9:45pm Nine Adelaide
Pre-show 5:30pm 9GEM / Tournament 6pm 9GEM / 9:45pm Nine Perth

links to content on ABC

TV Tonight 

Read More 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *